Confessions of a Disney Freak: Where It All Started

People always ask me why do I love Disney so much and where did it begin. Well, I think this post will give a little insight for those who care to know why and how I love Disney so much!

Let’s see, my first trip to Disneyland was when I was about one and a half years old. I went with my mom, dad, and my uncle. I honestly do not remember those moments but I do have lots of photographs to reminisce with. Around that time, The Lion King was my obsession. Countless days and endless nights (yes, I just made a reference to a Lion King Broadway song haha) of watching that awesome Disney animated film is slightly where my love for Disney began.

Now, I did not go to Disneyland all the time in my early years. I believe the next time I went again, I was around four years old. I went with my mom and dad and it was a blast! Little did my family know that going to Disneyland would turn into a family pastime.

Me and my dad watching the Hercules parade back in 1997.

Me and my dad watching the Hercules parade back in 1997.

 

When I was five years old, The Little Mermaid was my newfound love. Just as much as I watched The Lion King when I was one was the same way I watched this film. After that, the influx of Disney movies began pouring down my life and soon, I was watching every Disney movie on my VCR player and all the cartoons from Disney Afternoon and Toon Disney!

My first little sister was born when I was about 7 years old. She grew up with Playhouse Disney (now known as Disney Junior) and of course she watched all the Disney movies and Pixar films as well with me. She had her first 2 birthdays at Goofy’s Kitchen at the Disneyland Hotel. Shortly after, I had a birthday party with my cousins at Disneyland Park (yes, before California Adventure’s time haha).

Me and my sisters at Disneyland on a Disney vacation of summer 2013.

Me (far right) and my sisters at Disneyland on a Disney vacation of summer 2013.

A few years after my second sister was born, the frequent trips to Disneyland Resort became more frequent. Soon we had annual passes and went all the time! In fact, Disney is a special bond between us and we often watch Disney movies together and enjoy going to Disneyland with each other. I can say that my little sisters have definitely taken after me when it comes to a love for Disney!

wpid-IMG_1015952258527.jpeg

Me on the far left with my little sister a couple of my Disnerd cousins!

My cousins are very into Disney as well. In fact, many early memories of Disney were always with my cousins and watching Disney animated films together and going to Disneyland. It is so bad, we often run into each other while visiting the Parks! Even to this day, all 20 and over, we still will watch Disney films both old and new when we all get together!

And recently, we have found family friends who have annual passes as well and we go with them often!

My cousins and I at our more recent Disneyland run-ins!

My cousins, little sisters, and me at our more recent Disneyland run-ins!

So, my family now still has annual passes to Disneyland Resort and we go as much as we can with each other. It is a family favorite and being only a quick 45 minute drive away, it is always a place to go to when boredom sets in. Some of my cousins still have annual passes but we all plan to go as a collective whole someday.

My family and me standing in front of Sleeping Beauty Castle for my 20th birthday (2013).

My family and me standing in front of Sleeping Beauty Castle for my 20th birthday (2013).

Disney, whether it is the animated films or the Parks, has always been in my life since I can remember. My love for Disney is indeed a blessing but I was raised around it and grew up with people who truly loved it as much as I did. And that is where it all began and where the new beginning of my adult Disney life starts!

Leave a Reply

