The Perfect Collectible Souvenir

Hello Dreamers, Ti here! So I happened to look through my Disney drawer and saw a lot of the Disneyland items I have accumulated over the years and thought, what makes a great Disneyland (or Disney Park) souvenir for someone visiting Disneyland? Well it all depends on the person but there are plenty of cool items that make wonderful souvenirs, from free to well, pricy! I have cool ideas for souvenirs that also make nice collectibles too. In fact, a lot of my souvenirs are my collectibles! Here are a few of the many souvenirs that I own and wish to own and collect!

  • Disneyland and Disney’s California Adventure Maps: Yep that’s right! The maps at both parks make awesome souvenirs, especially since they change every so many months. And the best part is, it’s free!!! You can get a map from the entrance gates at both parks. I have been collecting them for about 5 years. Every time I went, I would be sure to pick up a map and usually it was a different design. If you do not go to Disneyland often enough to use them as a collection, they still make a great souvenir. Taking the map the day you go is crucial! If you come back a year after your visit, I guarantee something in the park or map has been added or changed. However, if you are a frequent Disneylander, I recommend collecting them! They do not require much and you do not have to necessarily enter either park to get one. The only tip is to keep up with the matches; it does become a bit of a challenge to keep them together.
These are just a few of all my maps I collect.

These are just a few of all my maps I collect.

 

  • The Buena Vista Bugle Newspapers:  This may seem unknown to some people because it is fairly new. Located in California Adventure, these newspapers are nice to collect. They made their debut on the opening day of Buena Vista Street and Cars Land June 15, 2012. It complements the theme of the newly refurbished Buena Vista Street. I have been collecting them since the opening day and still to this day go to California Adventure to collect the new issues. There are different issues, the first starting of the opening. Each season there is a different issue, such as Halloween, Christmas, spring, and summer. Despite it being a newspaper, they are fun to read with great tips and interesting stories that tie in with what’s happening in the park. I highly recommend picking one up each time you go. Did I mention they are free? Even better! So go pick one up at Guest Services or find a cast member who is passing them out!
A few of the newspapers I own. The top one is the opening day.

A few of the newspapers I own. The top one is the opening day.

 

  • Buttons/Stickers: Everyone wants a button when they go to Disneyland, or any Disney park for that matter! It is almost like a rite of passage. There are plenty of buttons for different occasions such as birthdays, 1st visit, anniversary, just engaged, just married, happily ever after, and I’m celebrating. Also, different attractions give out their own buttons. For example, at the Carnation Café in Disneyland, they have character dining and it is Breakfast with Minnie. Another example is at Cars Land. If you walk around, sometimes cast members will be passing them out. You can also go into one of the shops and ask for one or look for a bowl full of buttons. I earned a few of mine waiting in line for Radiator Spring Racers by singing a Disney song to a cast member! Disney has buttons for special events too, such as “One More Disney Day” for leap year, when Disneyland stayed opened 24 hours and Grad Nite. These buttons are free and great souvenirs to remember the special time you came to the Happiest Place on Earth! They also make cool collections, since over time, the button designs change.
Again, not all my buttons. Yes, I do go to Disneyland a lot for my birthday!

Again, not all my buttons. Yes, I do go to Disneyland a lot for my birthday!

  • Pins:  The ever famous pin trading! Pins are awesome souvenirs. There are abundance of them, from your favorite characters to rides and attractions to special events and holidays! If you visit Disneyland in 2013, for example, you can buy a pin that specifically has “2013” on it. They also have pins for the holidays, such as Christmas, Halloween, and Valentine’s Day. The cool thing about collecting pins is the variety of ways you can do it. You can have a lanyard for (just to name a few ideas) Disney rides, holiday pins, and your favorite character. The plus side is you can get them online as well (eBay, Amazon) for special addition pins as well. You can trade your pins with fellow cast members at Disney parks; there is no cost!  I think pin trading or collecting is a wonderful hobby. Prices vary from $6 to $14 in the parks themselves. Online can be different. Give it a try!
Here are some of the pins I collect.

Here are some of the pins I collect.

 

  • Snow globes:  I love snow globes! They are cool and come in all shapes and sizes! Disney has pretty cool ones, from small to really big. Disney parks offer snow globes for many of their characters, events, and holidays. Snow globes make great souvenirs and are just as easy to collect. They have both plastic and glass snow globes, some even have music! The prices vary, some are around $6 but the more elaborate ones are pricy. And the best part is, you do not have to be in a Disney park to get one. Many Disney Stores sell them, and other stores do too. I have an Ariel snow globe that makes music to “Under the Sea” from Wal-Mart. I would shop around for different ones that tickle your fancy. The elaborate ones are around $40-$100, but I believe they are worth the price.
I can not find my Ariel snow globe but I found my 2 other favorite ones! The Mickey and Friends one makes music!

I can not find my Ariel snow globe but I found my 2 other favorite ones! The Mickey and Friends one makes music!

  • Mouse Ears and Hats: Who doesn’t own a pair of ears? It is a rite of passage to buy at least one pair of ears when you visit a Disney park. Disney has become creative with their ears and has added new variations as well. Also, they have limited edition ears as well; sometimes they are limited to Annual Passholders, so make sure! One of Disneyland’s new set of ears are “Glow with the Show”, ears that light up and react to the Firework Spectaculars, World of Color, and Fantasmic! I gladly own a pair and it is so cool! The colors of the ears do indeed correspond to the shows! I have a limited edition pair of ears from when Disneyland hosted The Year of a Million Dreams in 2008. You can buy many types of ears and hats to suit your personality and favorite characters. You can make them stylish and each pair of ear is unique. Even if you do not wish to collect ears, I recommend at least owning one for a wonderful souvenir!
Some of my ears! The Year of a Million Dreams is on the far left, Glow with the Show is behind it.

Some of my ears! The Year of a Million Dreams is on the far left, Glow with the Show is behind it.

 

  • Vinylmations and POP!: These are fairly new to Disney but they are quite popular amongst Disney fans. Vinylmations are figurines that resemble the shape of Mickey Mouse but each one has a different design that can resemble a villain, princess, theme park, character, and many more. There are countless types, and different series. Just to name a few, they have Star Wars series, Disney villain series, Princess series, and plenty more! I have not actually collected any, although it is on my list! I do not know where to start! POP! is a new figurine like Vinylmations but look like comic book characters. They are adorable and are in different series. My cousin for my birthday recently bought me my first one of Stitch and I fell in love! It is so cute! I have begun my collection of these! They are cute and you can say they make nice toys for kids, but for adults, a perfect collector’s item!
This is my POP! Stitch, my first one!

    This is my POP! Stitch, my first one!

 

This one is in the first series.

This one is in the first series.

 

 

Well that is all for now! I will be back with my awesome souvenirs and collectibles! Give some of these a try and see if you like them! Do you have a favorite Disney collection? I would love to hear about it! Leave your comments below! See ya soon!

 

“Life is like a mirror. Smile every moment.” – Donald Duck

4 responses to “The Perfect Collectible Souvenir

Leave a Reply

