A “Monstrous” Review: Monsters University

           monsters university     I know many other Disney (or Pixar or both) enthusiasts have been waiting just as long as I have for a sequel to the beloved Pixar movie Monsters Inc. After 12 years of its release, Pixar has created a prequel featuring your scary and lovable characters Mike and Sulley, Monsters University! I am not going to lie; I was upset when I first heard the news that Pixar was releasing a prequel and not a sequel. I don’t want to give it away for those who have not seen it but let’s just say the ending alluded to a sequel.

            But as I began to read into it, follow the story, see the previews every day and admiring the colorful posters, I became quite excited! And the day it was released at the movies, I did not hesitate to drag my mom and two little sisters to the theaters. I was more thrilled in seeing this movie than my 8 year old sister, which I have become accustomed to.

monsters inc

But before I get into detail about the review, let me do a quick summary of Monsters Inc. This Pixar animated film made its debut in 2001, exploring the world of monsters and how they scare children to collect energy. As we wander through Monstropolis, we soon become familiar with the funny and witty duet Mike Wazowski and James P. Sullivan (who we know as Sulley). Sulley is top scarer at Monsters Inc, with Mike as his faithful coach. Together they make the most fearless team in all of Monstropolis. But when Sulley accidentally lets a human child, Boo, into the monster world, things go, well, terrible! Mike and Sulley go on a monstrous adventure to bring Boo back home.

Now, Monsters University is the prequel to that. I advise you to watch this preview to understand it better. But a brief overview to the preview: we go back in time where Sulley and Mike first meet in college and their journey through Monsters University.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xBzPioph8CI

But as I began to read into it, follow the story, see the previews every day and admiring the colorful posters, I became quite excited! And the day it was released at the movies, I did not hesitate to drag my mom and two little sisters to the theaters. I was more thrilled in seeing this movie than my 8 year old sister, which I have become accustomed to.

As a huge Disney-Pixar fanatic, I can say Pixar did not disappoint! Despite the decision to create a prequel, this animated movie was spectacular! It had its brilliant color scheme! Our beloved duet Mike and Sulley are funnier, more fearless, and wittier than ever!

The plot was very well. Pixar did an excellent job with portraying the college lives of Mike and Sulley as well. Of course, the new characters all did a wonderful job! I was worried when the introduced the new characters, how they would tie in with the original movie. But not to fear, Pixar reassured that it was all taken care of. You will see very familiar faces in this movie and how they all contributed to Mike and Sulley’s college adventure.

Of course, it wouldn’t be a Disney or Pixar movie if it did not have a life lesson. The moral of this animated film was one that both young and old can take heed of.

One of the many concerns about this prequel was the ability to smoothly relate to Monsters Inc. Shockingly it did! Pixar throws in many surprises that reveal unknown mysteries in the first movie. During the movie, everything began to come together from the first movie. It is almost as if Pixar had intentions in creating a prequel to Monsters Inc the whole time! You will be doing plenty of “ohhhs” and “I get it!” throughout the movie, so be prepared!

Well I do not want to give too much away.  I want you all to see it! Have an open mind and enjoy it! Maybe once it dies down, I will write a more detailed review! Tell us what you liked about Monsters University!

 

 

“Sulley, you’re not suppose to name it. Once you name it, you become attached to it. Now put that thing back where it came from or so help me…”   Mike Wazowski

2 responses to “A “Monstrous” Review: Monsters University

  1. I loved it! Great review. The timing of this release was too perfect to to have been planned. When Monsters Inc came out I was 11. I just graduated from college, and those who were 4, 5 or even 6 years younger than me are now entering college. Pretty awesome.

Leave a Reply

